States are banning online sales of Vapor products! See if your state is one of them
Posted by on
In addition to the FDA regulations that have been put into place as of August 8th of 2016, we wanted to give you an update on regulations related to online vape sales pertaining to certain states. So far there are two states that prohibit the sale of vaping products online, which intern means that we are not able to ship to these states. The two states that currently ban the online sale of vaping products, including hardware and E Liquid are Utah and Arkansas.
Arkansas was the first state to pass a prohibition of online sales of vaping products. This prohibition was passed and went into effect back in July 21st of 2015, when the state announced that manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers would have to obtain a licenses from the state to sell vapor products within the state of Arkansas.
Going further into the bill we realized that not only would retailers within the state of Arkansas be required to obtain a license in order to sell vaping products in the state, but manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers from outside of Arkansas would also be subject to the process of obtaining this license as well. This also includes online retailers. The cost of the license application for wholesalers and manufacturers is $500 and $100 for vendors. On top of that it is required to obtain a separate permit per product at $50 a product. Additionally if you are a manufacturer you would be required to obtain each one of the licenses/permits and pay each individual fee.
On top of the licensing, a background check is required in order to be allowed to conduct the sales of vaping products within the state, and even if you are able to meet all the requirements there is yet another roadblock… The state of Arkansas will only issue a limited amount of permits and that permits will only be given to local in state vendors, that are zoned and licensed.
This has effectively prevented us at Vapory Shop and other online retailers of vaping products from offering our products for sale online into the state of Arkansas.
As of July 1st of 2016 the state of Utah passed a law that prohibits online purchases of vaping related products. residents after July 1. This law only allows anyone in the state of Utah to purchase any vape related products, including hardware and E Liquid, in a face-to-face transaction.
This new law prevents us from being able to sell our products to the state of Utah but it also causes additional roadblocks for Utah's vaping community of over 35,000 vapers.
On top of the prohibition of online sales to the state, Utah has extremely strict zoning laws for vape shops that make it nearly impossible to obtain a license in many areas. This means that Utah’s vaping community will have extremely limited access to potentially lifesaving vape products, if any at all, in the near future.
In addition to the two states that have either outright banned the sale of vapor products online or made it extremely difficult to obtain a license to do so, the state of Indiana has passed a law as of July 1st that will require manufacturers of vaping products to be certified by a security firm by June 30th of 2016. The catch here is that there is only one small security firm in the state that is authorized to provide this certification and they have stated that they will no longer be taking any new vaping clients. So far they have chosen to work with only 6 manufacturers of vaping products and 2 of those manufacturers are not even in business yet.
We are still unsure how this is going to play out in terms of our ability to sell our products into your state and we will provide an update when we have more information.
On July 13th of 2016, the state of Pennsylvania passed a law that requires retailers of vaping products to pay a 40% tax on the purchase price of all vape related products. The cost of this 40% will most likely if not definitely be passed on to the consumers who can expect to pay anywhere from $4.00 to $6.00 more for a 30ml bottle of E Juice. Additionally consumers who purchase vapor products online from outside of the state will be responsible for paying this tax as well. This new law will make it extremely difficult for Pennsylvania's vaping community to have access to affordable vaping products that have changed the lives of so many previous smokers.
If you are personally affected by any of these legislations, we strongly encourage you to contact your local representatives and let them know how vaping has made a positive impact in your life and that your right to vape matters. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Vapory Shop LLC is a proud member of Casaa a consumer advocacy group that fights for your right to vape. We will continue to do our part to fight the unfair regulation of vaping products and protect our customers. We encourage you to become a member as well at http://casaa.org